Douglas D. Anderson
Emeritus Director of the Laboratory for Circumpolar Studies

Leah Burgin 
Manager of Museum Education & Programs

Pinar Durgun
Curatorial Assistant 

Thierry Gentis
Curator and NAGPRA Coordinator

Rip Gerry
Exhibit Designer and Photographic Archivist

Barbara A. Hail
Curator Emerita

Annalisa Heppner
NPS Project Coordinator

Emily Jackson
Museum Operations & Communications Coordinator

Dawn Kimbrel

Robert Preucel
Director and Professor of Anthropology 

Kathleen Silvia 
Education Outreach Coordinator

Kevin P. Smith
Deputy Director and Chief Curator


Nathan Arndt 
Curatorial Affiliate 
Curator, UNI Museums 

Anthony Belz
Research Affiliate, Tomoquag Museum Archivist

Geralyn Ducady
Education Program Affiliate
Education & Public Programs Director, Rhode Island Historical Society

Edward (Ned) Dwyer
Research Affiliate
Professor Emeritus, Rhode Island School of Design

Kaitlin McCormick 
Research Affiliate

Nicholas Laluk
Research Affiliate

Michèle Hayeur Smith
Museum Research Associate in Circumpolar Studies 

Christopher Wolff
Museum Research Associate in Circumpolar Studies, Assistant Professor of Anthropology, [email protected]  

Faculty Fellows

Bathsheba Demuth
Assistant Professor of History

Brian Lander
Assistant Professor of History and Environment and Society

Rebecca Nedostup
Associate Professor of History

Holly Shaffer
Assistant Professor of History of Art and Architecture

Faculty Associates

Elizabeth Hoover
Assistant Professor of American Studies and Ethnic Studies 

Steven D. Lubar
Professor of American Studies, History of Art and Architecture, and History 

Patricia Rubertone
Professor of Anthropology 

Friends Board

Peter Allen
Professor Emeritus of Anthropology at Rhode Island College

Edith Andrews
Elder and Past Repatriation Officer, Wampanoag Tribe of Gay Head, Aquinnah

Gina Borromeo
Curator of Ancient Art at the Rhode Island School of Design Museum 

Kristine M. Bovy
Associate Professor of Anthropology at the University of Rhode Island

David Haffenreffer
Chair, Fund for UCAP

Rudolf F. Haffenreffer

Barbara Hail
Curator Emerita of the Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology

Susan Hardy (Vice President)

Diana Johnson (Treasurer)
Art Consultant and former banker

Elizabeth Johnson (Secretary)
Former docent at the Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology 

Robert W. Preucel (Ex Officio)
Director of the Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology
Professor of Anthropology at Brown University

Kevin Smith (Ex Officio)
Deputy Director and Chief Curator of the Haffenreffer Museum of Anthropology, Brown University

Jeffrey Schreck (President)
Attorney at Law

Peter Van Dommelen
Joukowsky Family Professor of Archaeology & Professor of Anthropology, Brown University

Visitor Service Coordinators

Christian Casey

Bella Carlos  

Dee Walls III

Elizabeth Dimen

Erica Meszaros

Gabrielle Santas

Rob Kashow

Sara Mohr

Education & Programming Coordinators

Isaac Leong 

Flannery McIntyre 

Are you interested in joining the Haffenreffer Museum? Check our Employment page for new opportunities OR support the Museum by becoming a Member