Graduate Students in English

Graduates

Ilan Ben-Meir

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Media Theory

Office Hours

Ilan_Ben-Meir@brown.edu

Noah Brooksher

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Race and Ethnicity; Romantic and Victorian; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Judaic Studies

Office Hours

Noah_Brooksher@Brown.edu

Danny Byrne

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Daniel_Byrne@brown.edu

John Casey

Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures; Transatlantic Studies

John_Casey@brown.edu

Devon Epiphany Clifton

African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Slavery; Race and Ethnicity; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Devon_Clifton@brown.edu

Lubabah Chowdhury

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Race and Slavery; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Lubabah_Chowdhury@brown.edu

M.J. Cunniff

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies; Poetry and Poetics; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Science Fiction and Fantasy

Megan_Cunniff@brown.edu

Ashley Aye Aye Dun

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Asian American Studies

Office Hours

Ashley_Dun@Brown.edu

Nicole Aleia Fung

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory; Transatlantic Studies

Nicole_Fung@brown.edu

Michael Gastiger

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Michael_Gastiger@brown.edu

Christina Gilligan

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Race and Ethnicity; Romantic and Victorian; Studies in the Novel

Office Hours

Christina_Gilligan@Brown.edu

Claire Grandy

Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Poetry and Poetics, Romantic and Victorian, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Claire_Grandy@brown.edu

Claire Gullander-Drolet

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Race and Ethnicity, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Claire_Gullander-Drolet@brown.edu

Suzy Kim

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies; Romantic and Victorian; Studies in the Novel; The Graphic Novel, Visual Narrative

Office Hours

Suzy_Kim@brown.edu

Zachary Krowiak

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity; Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Zachary_Krowiak@brown.edu

Olivia Anne Lafferty

American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literature and Cognitive/Psychological Science; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Olivia_Lafferty@brown.edu

Christopher Joseph Lee

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Christopher_J_Lee@brown.edu

Ali John Madani

Research Interests: Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures

Ali_Madani@brown.edu

Stephen Taylor Marsh

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary; History of Literary Criticism

Office Hours

Stephen_Marsh@brown.edu

Cole Morgan

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Slavery; Race and Ethnicity; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Cole_Morgan@brown.edu

Marah Nagelhout

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Marah_Nagelhout@Brown.edu

Goutam Piduri

Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Renaissance and Early Modern

Goutam_Piduri@brown.edu

Nicholas Pisanelli

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Nicholas_Pisanelli@brown.edu

Katherine Preston

American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Romantic and Victorian

Katherine_Preston@brown.edu

Erin Prior

20th-Century and Contemporary; Genre Fiction, Philosophy of Science, Religion

Erin_Prior@brown.edu

Michelle Rada

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Transatlantic Studies, Studies in the Novel, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Michelle_Rada@brown.edu

Rithika Ramamurthy

Research Interests: Romantic and Victorian; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel

Rithika_Ramamurthy@brown.edu

Hilary Rasch

American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Poetry and Poetics; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Performance Studies

Office Hours

Hilary_Rasch@brown.edu

Eleanor Rowe

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Romantic and Victorian; Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Eleanor_Rowe@brown.edu

Ula Rutkowska

Research Interests:  American Literature and Culture; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Literature and Politics; War Fiction; Environmental Writing

Office Hours

Ula_Rutkowska@brown.edu

Kiran Saili

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Psychoanalysis; Queer of Colour Critique

Office Hours

Kiran_Saili@Brown.edu

Ian Sampson

Research Interests:  Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Ian_Sampson@brown.edu

Emily Simon

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Literature and the Visual Arts

Office Hours

Emily_Simon@brown.edu

Benjamin Smith

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory

Benjamin_Smith@brown.edu

Dorin Smith

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; American Literature and Culture; Eighteenth-Century Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Literature and Cognitive/Psychological Science; Romantic and Victorian; Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies; Narrative Theory; Phenomenology

Office Hours

Dorin_Smith@brown.edu

Jennie Snow

American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Race and Ethnicity;  20th-Century and Contemporary; Film and Photography 

Jennie_Snow@brown.edu

Jerrine Tan

American Literature and Culture; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies;  Race and Ethnicity; Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Jerrine_Tan@brown.edu

Anna Thomas

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity

Anna_Thomas@brown.edu

Jennifer Wang

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Race and Slavery; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Asian North American Studies

Office Hours

Jennifer_F_Wang@brown.edu

Dashiell Wasserman

African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; American Literature and Culture, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Race and Slavery, Transatlantic Studies, 20th-Century and Contemporary; Modernism and Modernity

Office Hours

Dashiell_Wasserman@brown.edu

Christopher Yates

Research Interests:  Poetry and Poetics; Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures

Christopher_Yates@brown.edu

Minta Zlomke

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Race and Ethnicity, Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures; Transatlantic Studies

Minta_Zlomke@brown.edu