Graduate Students in English

Graduates

Andrea Actis

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Literary and Cultural Theory, Poetry and Poetics,Race and Ethnicity, 20th-Century and Contemporary, Critical Animal Studies

Andrea_Actis@brown.edu

Matthew Beach

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies, Race and Slavery, Romantic and Victorian, Studies in the Novel, Transatlantic Studies

Matthew_Beach@brown.edu

Ilan Ben-Meir

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Media Theory

Ilan_Ben-Meir@brown.edu

Danny Byrne

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Studies in the Novel, Transatlantic Studies, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Daniel_Byrne@brown.edu

John Casey

Research Interests: Literary and Cultural Theory, Poetry and Poetics, Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures

Office Hours

John_Casey@brown.edu

Lubabah Chowdhury

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Lubabah_Chowdhury@brown.edu

M.J. Cunniff

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies, Poetry and Poetics, Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies

Office Hours

Megan_Cunniff@brown.edu

Nicholas Farruggia

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Literature and Cognitive/Psychological Science, Poetry and Poetics, Studies in the Novel, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Nicholas_Farruggia@brown.edu

Katie Fitzpatrick

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Literary and Cultural Theory, Studies in the Novel, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Kathleen_Fitzpatrick@brown.edu

Nicole Aleia Fung

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Literary and Cultural Theory, Transatlantic Studies

Office Hours

Nicole_Fung@brown.edu

Michael Gastiger

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic, American Literature and Culture, Literary and Cultural Theory, Race and Ethnicity, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Michael_Gastiger@brown.edu

Claire Grandy

Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Poetry and Poetics, Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Claire_Grandy@brown.edu

Claire Gullander-Drolet

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Race and Ethnicity, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Claire_Gullander-Drolet@brown.edu

Zachary Heine

Research Interests: Eighteenth-Century Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Literature and Cognitive/Psychological Science, Poetry and Poetics, Romantic and Victorian

Office Hours

Zachary_Heine@brown.edu

David Hollingshead

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic, American Literature and Culture, Literary and Cultural Theory, Studies in the Novel

David_Hollingshead@brown.edu

Peter Kim

Research Interests: Literary and Cultural Theory, Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies, Romantic and Victorian, Studies in the Novel

Peter_Kim@brown.edu

Suzy Kim

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies; Romantic and Victorian; Studies in the Novel; The Graphic Novel

Suzy_Kim@brown.edu

Zachary Krowiak

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Race and Ethnicity, Studies in the Novel, Transatlantic Studies, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Zachary_Krowiak@brown.edu

Christopher Joseph Lee

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Race and Ethnicity, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Christopher_J_Lee@brown.edu

Ali John Madani

Research Interests: Literary and Cultural Theory, Poetry and Poetics, Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures

Office Hours

Ali_Madani@brown.edu

Stephen Taylor Marsh

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary; History of Literary Criticism

Stephen_Marsh@brown.edu

Cole Morgan

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic, American Literature and Culture, Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Race and Slavery, Race and Ethnicity, Transatlantic Studies, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Cole_Morgan@brown.edu

Nicholas Pisanelli

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Nicholas_Pisanelli@brown.edu

Sara Pfaff

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic, American Literature and Culture, Literary and Cultural Theory, Race and Ethnicity, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Sara_Pfaff@brown.edu

Michelle Rada

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies, Transatlantic Studies, Studies in the Novel, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Michelle_Rada@brown.edu

Rithika Ramamurthy

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Studies in the Novel

Office Hours

Rithika_Ramamurthy@brown.edu

Hilary Rasch

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies; Poetry and Poetics; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures; Affect Theory; Body Studies

Hilary_Rasch@brown.edu

Swetha Regunathan

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Eighteenth-Century Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Race and Ethnicity, Studies in the Novel

Swetha_Regunathan@brown.edu

Eleanor Rowe

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Studies in the Novel, Transatlantic Studies, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Eleanor_Rowe@brown.edu

Ula Rutkowska

Research Interests:  American Literature and Culture; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Literature and Politics; War Fiction; Environmental Writing

Ula_Rutkowska@brown.edu

Ian Sampson

Research Interests:  Literary and Cultural Theory, Poetry and Poetics, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Ian_Sampson@brown.edu

Emily Simon

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Literature and the Visual Arts

Emily_Simon@brown.edu

Joel Simundich

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies, Romantic and Victorian, Studies in the Novel

Joel_Simundich@brown.edu

Benjamin Smith

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory

Benjamin_Smith@brown.edu

Dorin Smith

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Eighteenth-Century Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Literature and Cognitive/Psychological Science, Studies in the Novel, Transatlantic Studies

Dorin_Smith@brown.edu

Jennie Snow

American Literature and Culture, Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Race and Ethnicity,  20th-Century and Contemporary, Film and Photography 

Jennie_Snow@brown.edu

Jessica Tabak

Research Interests: Medical Humanities; Disability Studies; Affect Theory; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures

Jessica_Tabak@brown.edu

Jerrine Tan

American Literature and Culture, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies, Race and Ethnicity, Studies in the Novel, Transatlantic Studies, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Jerrine_Tan@brown.edu

Anna Thomas

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic, Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Race and Ethnicity

Anna_Thomas@brown.edu

Stephanie Tilden

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Studies in the Novel

Stephanie_Tilden@brown.edu

Rebecca van Laer

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Poetry and Poetics, Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies, Transatlantic Studies, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Rebecca_van_Laer@brown.edu

Jennifer Wang

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Race and Ethnicity, Asian American Studies and Literature

Jennifer_F_Wang@brown.edu

Dashiell Wasserman

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Race and Ethnicity, Studies in the Novel, Transatlantic Studies, 20th-Century and Contemporary

Dashiell_Wasserman@brown.edu

Alison Wright

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies, Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures

Alison_Wright@brown.edu

Christopher Yates

Research Interests:  Poetry and Poetics, Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures

Office Hours

Christopher_Yates@brown.edu

Minta Zlomke

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies, Literary and Cultural Theory, Poetry and Poetics, Race and Ethnicity, Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures, Transatlantic Studies

Minta_Zlomke@brown.edu