Graduate Students in English

Graduates

Ilan Ben-Meir

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Media Theory

Ilan_Ben-Meir@brown.edu

Noah Brooksher

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Noah_Brooksher@Brown.edu

Danny Byrne

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Daniel_Byrne@brown.edu

John Casey

Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures; Transatlantic Studies

Office Hours

John_Casey@brown.edu

Lubabah Chowdhury

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Race and Slavery; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Lubabah_Chowdhury@brown.edu

M.J. Cunniff

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies; Poetry and Poetics; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies

Office Hours

Megan_Cunniff@brown.edu

Ashley Aye Aye Dun

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Ashley_Dun@Brown.edu

Nicholas Farruggia

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Literature and Cognitive/Psychological Science; Poetry and Poetics; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Nicholas_Farruggia@brown.edu

Nicole Aleia Fung

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory; Transatlantic Studies

Office Hours

Nicole_Fung@brown.edu

Michael Gastiger

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Michael_Gastiger@brown.edu

Christina Gilligan

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Literature and Cognitive/Psychological Science; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Race and Ethnicity; Romantic and Victorian; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Christina_Gilligan@Brown.edu

Claire Grandy

Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Claire_Grandy@brown.edu

Claire Gullander-Drolet

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Claire_Gullander-Drolet@brown.edu

David Hollingshead

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel

David_Hollingshead@brown.edu

Suzy Kim

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies; Romantic and Victorian; Studies in the Novel; The Graphic Novel

Suzy_Kim@brown.edu

Zachary Krowiak

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity; Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Zachary_Krowiak@brown.edu

Christopher Joseph Lee

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Christopher_J_Lee@brown.edu

Ali John Madani

Research Interests: Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures

Office Hours

Ali_Madani@brown.edu

Stephen Taylor Marsh

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary; History of Literary Criticism

Stephen_Marsh@brown.edu

Cole Morgan

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Slavery; Race and Ethnicity; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Cole_Morgan@brown.edu

Marah Nagelhout

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Marah_Nagelhout@Brown.edu

Nicholas Pisanelli

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Nicholas_Pisanelli@brown.edu

Sara Pfaff

Research Interests: African American Literature; Native American Literatures; Disability Studies; Medical Humanities; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Sara_Pfaff@brown.edu

Michelle Rada

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Transatlantic Studies;, Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Michelle_Rada@brown.edu

Rithika Ramamurthy

Research Interests: Romantic and Victorian; Literary and Cultural Theory; Studies in the Novel

Office Hours

Rithika_Ramamurthy@brown.edu

Hilary Rasch

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies; Poetry and Poetics; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures; Affect Theory; Body Studies

Hilary_Rasch@brown.edu

Swetha Regunathan

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Eighteenth-Century Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity;  Studies in the Novel

Swetha_Regunathan@brown.edu

Eleanor Rowe

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory;  Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Office Hours

Eleanor_Rowe@brown.edu

Ula Rutkowska

Research Interests:  American Literature and Culture; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Literature and Politics; War Fiction; Environmental Writing

Ula_Rutkowska@brown.edu

Kiran Saili

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Psychoanalysis; Queer of Colour Critique

Kiran_Saili@Brown.edu

Ian Sampson

Research Interests:  Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Ian_Sampson@brown.edu

Emily Simon

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Studies in the Novel; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Literature and the Visual Arts

Emily_Simon@brown.edu

Benjamin Smith

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Literary and Cultural Theory

Benjamin_Smith@brown.edu

Dorin Smith

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Eighteenth-Century Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Literature and Cognitive/ Psychological Science; Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies

Dorin_Smith@brown.edu

Jennie Snow

American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Race and Ethnicity;  20th-Century and Contemporary; Film and Photography 

Jennie_Snow@brown.edu

Jerrine Tan

American Literature and Culture; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies;  Race and Ethnicity; Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Jerrine_Tan@brown.edu

Anna Thomas

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity

Anna_Thomas@brown.edu

Jennifer Wang

Research Interests: African American Studies and the Black Atlantic; American Literature and Culture; Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Queer Theory/Gay and Lesbian Studies; Race and Slavery; Race and Ethnicity; 20th-Century and Contemporary; Asian North American Studies

Jennifer_F_Wang@brown.edu

Dashiell Wasserman

Research Interests: American Literature and Culture; Gender and Sexuality Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Race and Ethnicity, Studies in the Novel; Transatlantic Studies; 20th-Century and Contemporary

Dashiell_Wasserman@brown.edu

Alison Wright

Research Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies; Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures

Alison_Wright@brown.edu

Christopher Yates

Research Interests:  Poetry and Poetics; Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures

Office Hours

Christopher_Yates@brown.edu

Minta Zlomke

Research Interests: Colonial and Postcolonial Studies; Literary and Cultural Theory; Poetry and Poetics; Race and Ethnicity, Renaissance, Medieval, and Early Modern Literatures; Transatlantic Studies

Minta_Zlomke@brown.edu