Professor Laird Hunt Named to National Book Award Judging Panel

Professor of Literary Arts Laird Hunt will be among the judges on the fiction panel for the 2020 National Book Awards.  Laird is the author of seven novels, with an eighth, Zorrie, forthcoming in 2021.  He joined Brown’s fiction faculty in July, 2018, and works with both graduate and undergraduate students.  The National Book Awards were established in 1950 to honor the best writing published in the

(Distributed April 2, 2020)

Stine An MFA '20 Selected for Emerging Translator Mentorship

Stine An (MFA ’20) has been chosen for the 2020 ALTA Emerging Translator Mentorship Program.  The program is designed by ALTA (The American Literary Translators Association) to facilitate and establish “a close working relationship between an experienced translator and an emerging translator” on a specific project, which will be completed during a nine-month mentorship period.  Stine will work with mentor Joyelle McSweeney to translate a collection of poems by the contemporary South Korean

(Distributed February 26, 2020)

New Book from Thalia Field

Leave to Remain, a fiction-essay collaboration written by Professor of Literary Arts Thalia Field and poet and translator Abigail Lang of the Université Paris-Diderot, was published by Dalkey Archive Press in January, 2020.  “Leave to Remain…is a faux spy novel possessed by the spirit of Janus:  doubleness, duplicity, double-entendres, two-facedness, bridges and doorways – as is only appropriate for a work composed by two writers:  one French and one American.  Two faced Janus resurrects into a time-traveling adventure, a tour of double-agents, double-s

(Distributed February 5, 2020)

Honors for Rick Moody, Sawako Nakayasu & Azareen Van der Vliet Oloomi

Rick Moody was presented with the insignia of Officer of the Ordre des Arts et des Lettres on 25 April 2019 by Bénédicte de Montlaur, Cultural Counselor of the French Embassy. The presentation was made at the Cultural Services in New York City.

(Distributed April 29, 2019)

New book from Eleni Sikelianos

Nightboat Editions has just released What I Knew by Eleni Sikelianos, professor of Literary Arts. According to Cecilia Vicuña, "Eleni Sikelianos is the vagabond traveler dreaming Sappho's words in the desolate lands of "truth-war," where only a "house of consciousness" can gather "language states from scraps" to reveak Poetry as a secret way of knowing," to counter the fields of hatred now enveloping us."

(Distributed April 22, 2019)

Forrest Gander receives 2019 Pulitzer Prize

Be With, Forrest Gander's collection of elegies, received the 2019 Pulitzer Prize in Poetry. Forrest Gander, Adele Kellenberg Seaver Professor Emeritus, investigates the difficulties of expressing grief and yearning in the face of sudden losses.

(Distributed April 16, 2019)

Colin Channer receives Henry Merritt Wriston Fellowship

Colin Channer has been selected to receive the Henry Merritt Wriston Fellowship for 2019, to celebrate his innovative teaching and to recongize the range and originality of his scholarly accomplishment. This Brown University fellowship recognizes young faculty who are fulfilling Brown's dual mission of excellence in teaching and research. Congratulations to a member of the Literary Arts faculty in earning this high distinction.

(Distributed April 5, 2019)

Karan Mahajan wins Jeannette Haien Ballard Writer's Prize

Karan Mahajan, assistant professor in Literary Arts, has won the 2019 Jeannette Haien Ballard Writer’s Prize, given annually to “a young writer of proven excellence in poetry or prose.” The prize was established in honor of author Jeannette Haien and is intended to encourage young writers in “the production of literary works of hi

(Distributed March 14, 2019)
Syndicate content Subscribe via RSS feed