Lalit Beura named 2020 Searle Scholar

Lalit Beura, Assistant Professor in the Department of Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, is one of 15 scientists named as Searle Scholars for 2020 for his research project "Adaptation of resident memory CD8 T lymphocytes in the reproductive mucosa". Beura studies the role played by T-cells in establishing an immune barrier in mucosal surfaces, which are common bacterial points of entry into the body. The Searle Scholars Program makes grants to selected universities and research centers to support the independent research of exceptional young faculty in the biomedical sciences and chemistry who have recently been appointed as assistant professors on a tenure-track appointment. The award provides $300,000 over three years to support research.