The Diversity and Inclusion Oversight Board (DIOB) serves to strengthen and streamline oversight of diversity and inclusion initiatives. The DIOB assesses progress related to goals set forth in the university-wide Diversity and Inclusion Action Plan (DIAP)


In order to achieve its goal, the DIOB has a variety of charges:

  • Meeting regularly with the Vice President for Institutional Equity and Diversity along with ex-officio members to review and comment on early iterations of the annual DIAP report
  • Inviting senior leaders to DIOB meetings to discuss progress and opportunities related to specific goals (i.e. the Dean of the Faculty, the Dean of Admissions, the Office of Institutional Research, the Provost)
  • Reviewing the 'monitoring progress' webpage and ensuring current data is populated and available to the Brown community
  • Annually author a memo to the president and provost highlighting key areas that require the University’s close attention as it pertains to DIAP initiatives


The membership of the DIOB will be structured to ensure collaboration across groups. It will be co-chaired by the Vice President for Institutional Equity and Diversity and one of the faculty committee members. Its membership will include:

  • The Chair of CFED (Committee on Faculty Equity and Diversity) or designee 
  • Faculty members 
  • Students, including undergraduates, graduates (both Ph.D. and Masters), and medical.
  • Staff members, including a representative from the Staff Advisory Council
  • Three ex-officio (non-voting) members: one from the Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity, one member of the academic DDIAP review committee, and one member of the administrative DDIAP review committee

2022 - 2023 Board Members

Sylvia Carey-Butler, Vice President for Institutional Equity and Diversity
Andre C. Willis,  Associate Professor of Religious Studies

Amy Greenwald, Professor of Computer Science, Committee on Faculty Equity and Diversity (CFED)
Matthew Guterl, Professor of Africana Studies, American Studies and Chair of American Studies 
Christopher Rose, Professor of Engineering and Associate Provost for STEM Initiatives
Brenda Rubenstein, Associate Professor of Chemistry, Associate Professor of Physics 

Carleia Lighty, Transportation and Brown Card Services
Jai-Me Potter-Rutledge, School of Public Health
Meredith Scarlata Dawson, Campus Life

Sheyenne Allen, Undergraduate student
Don-Pierre Burnett, Ph.D., Graduate student
Giancarlo Medina-Perez, Medical student
Diksha Pandey, Graduate student
Are Oelsner, Graduate student

Ex-Officio Members
George Barboza, Jr., Dining Services
Juana Parillon, Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity
Tristan Glenn, Office of Institutional Equity and Diversity