The Academic Priorities Committee, chaired by the provost, provides oversight of academic programs and is responsible for making recommendations to the president concerning the growth and allocation of resources in support of education and research. The committee is composed of six faculty members and six senior academic administrators.

Committee Charge

Proposals for New Academic Programs

Members 2023-2024

  • Francis Doyle (Chair), Provost
  • Tejal Desai, Dean of Engineering
  • Susan Harvey, Professor of History and Religious Studies
  • Mukesh Jain, Dean of Medicine and Biological Sciences
  • Ashish Jha, Dean of Public Health
  • Thomas Lewis, Dean of the Graduate School
  • David Lindstrom, Professor of Sociology
  • Judy Liu, Associate Professor of Molecular Biology, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry
  • Govind Menon, Professor of Applied Mathematics
  • Tayhas Palmore, Professor of Engineering
  • Jill Pipher, Vice President for Research
  • Kevin Quashie, Professor of English
  • Kerry Smith, Associate Professor of History
  • Eliezer Upfal, Professor of Computer Science
  • Leah VanWey, Dean of the Faculty
  • Rashid Zia, Dean of the College


Staffed by : 

Elizabeth Doherty, Deputy Provost for Academic Affairs

Eva Neczypor, Assistant Director of Academic Affairs

Margot A. Saurette, Executive Assistant