Background & Clearance Checks for Placements

This page contains information for non-Providence Public Schools (PPSD) placements. If your placement is at PPSD, please visit this page.


Due to your placement working with minors, there are specific requirements you must complete before starting your placement. Please follow the instructions below to complete these requirements for engaging with minors:

Types of Clearance Considerations Instructions
RI State Background Check Investigation

Cannot receive state background check:

  • Undocumented Students
  • Students under 18
  • Students without government ID

The best way to obtain a RI State Background Check is to visit the Attorney General's Office located at 4 Howard Avenue (in the Pastore Complex), Cranston, RI 02920. 

Please be sure to bring your government-issued ID (license, state ID, passport, etc.). 

The AG office will be able to conduct your RI State BCI for  ~$5.00 (processing fees bring it up to around $5.60) which can be paid by debit/credit card. They do not accept cash. 

Mandated Reporter Training All students engaging with minors must complete this training to understand their required Mandated Reporter role under state law. Sign up for a student account on TopHat by using your Brown SSO credentials and then complete the virtual Mandated Reporter training by scrolling through the PPT slides and answering questions.

RI State Background Check

What is the RI State Background Check? What does it look for?
  1. The RI State background check is a criminal history check performed using a person’s name and date of birth.

  2. The scope of the check is only in the state of Rhode Island. It will not indicate if a person has an out-of-state criminal offense.

  • Jurisdiction where record is recorded
  • Case number
  • Defendant
  • Charge
  • Filing date
  • Degree of offense (ex. misdemeanor)
  • Disposition and date
  • Sentence

Rhode Island State Background Checks are required for students who will engage with minors (under the age of 18) and/or vulnerable populations through organizations that require this type of check. 

Mandated Reporter Training

What is a Mandated Reporter? What do volunteers look for?

All persons in Rhode Island are required by law (RIGL §40-11-3) to report known or suspected cases of child abuse and/or neglect to the Department of Children, Youth and Families within 24 hours of becoming aware of such abuse/neglect.

  • Physical Abuse
  • Sexual Abuse
  • Emotional Abuse
  • Physical Endangerment
  • Improper ethical guidance
  • Lack of supervision
  • Medical abuse
  • Deprivation of basic needs
  • Educational neglect
  • Emotional conflict
  • Psychological neglect

Any individual engaging with minors under the age of 18 is required to complete a virtual Mandated Reporter training on TopHat, the Swearer Center's e-learning platform.

  • Sign up for a student account on TopHat by using your Brown SSO credentials.
  • The Swearer Center maintains a list of students who have completed this virtual training for compliance tracking purposes.
  • While we invite students to review the training each year, it only needs to be completed once during a student's tenure at Brown.


Questions? Email [email protected]