History of the Mindfulness Center at Brown

The Mindfulness Center at Brown University was established in 2017, in collaboration with the Brown University School of Public Health, the Warren Alpert Medical School and the Contemplative Studies Initiative. Top leaders and academics in mindfulness research, came together to address the need for methodologically rigorous research into mindfulness.

In 2018, the Mindfulness Center expanded with the addition of leading researchers, trainers and leaders in the field: Judson Brewer, Dianne Horgan, Florence Meleo-Meyer, Lynn Koerbel, Brenda Fingold, Patricia Holland, Remko van Lutterfeld, Alex Roy, and Pablo Abrante. Under the direction of Eric Loucks, the Mindfulness Center at Brown is now uniquely positioned through its research, training, global presence and foundation of contemplative underpinnings to serve and grow in new directions.

What sets us apart is a truly collaborative and rigorous approach to both research and training joined with a broad global perspective and deep roots in contemplative studies.

Accordion Location