The Corporation is Brown’s primary governing body.  It consists of a 12-member Board of Fellows and a 42-member Board of Trustees, meets 3 times per year, and makes policy decisions in areas including academic affairs, advancement, budget and finance, and campus life.


Christina Paxson is the 19th president of Brown University.  As Chief Executive Officer, President Paxson reports to the Corporation, oversees all divisions of Brown’s administration, and is chief ambassador for the university.

Senior Staff

The senior staff includes the provost, deans, vice presidents for finance, planning, campus life, advancement, public affairs, university governance, and other senior leaders of the University.

Administrative Offices

Brown’s various managerial offices ensure a smooth daily operation of the university. See the A-to-Z page for a complete directory of offices.