Brown President Christina H. Paxson

Brown President Christina H. PaxsonChristina Paxson became Brown’s 19th president in 2012. In recognition of her record of transformational impact and growth, the Corporation of Brown University extended her tenure through June 30, 2026. As chief executive officer, President Paxson reports to the Corporation, oversees all divisions of Brown’s administration, and is chief ambassador for the University. Nationally recognized as a leader in higher education and an accomplished scholar, she is a professor of economics and public policy. 
Office of the President

President’s Cabinet

The President’s Cabinet includes the provost, senior deans, executive and senior vice presidents, vice presidents for research, campus life, equity and diversity, finance, human resources, and communications, and other senior leaders of the University.
Cabinet members


The Corporation of Brown University is Brown’s primary governing body, with its authority set forth in the charter of the University granted by the Colony of Rhode Island and Providence Plantations in 1764. It consists of a 12-member Board of Fellows and a 42-member Board of Trustees, meets in person three times per year, and makes policy decisions in areas including academic affairs, advancement, budget and finance, and campus life. 
Corporation of Brown University