DIAP Committee

Brown’s Department of Cognitive, Linguistics, and Psychological Sciences is committed to sustaining a diverse community and inclusive culture that values all of its members. We hold that welcoming and respecting difference—as well as actively challenging bias and discrimination—is essential to the pursuit of science and flourishing of a vibrant intellectual community.

In 2016, the CLPS Department prepared a Departmental Diversity and Inclusion Plan (DDIAP) with the support of undergraduate, graduate, postdoctoral, staff, and faculty members in the CLPS department. We held an undergraduate forum, conducted graduate student and postdoctoral staff surveys, a CLPS-wide open forum, and multiple committee and faculty meetings. The goals were to identify strategies, to be implemented over the next five years, for:

  • Increasing diversity and inclusion at the level of HUGs faculty and student representation.
  • Broadening our curricular offerings consistent with the diversity and inclusion mission.
  • Fostering an environment where all are given every opportunity to succeed.
  • Developing departmental programming (lectures, colloquia, etc.) that includes attention to issues of diversity and inclusion.



Undergraduate Students

  • Matt Dang (class of 2018)
  • Nora Lee (class of 2018)
  • Gabriel Reyes (class of 2018)
  • Maya Menefee (class of 2018)
  • Yuna Hur (class of 2018)
  • Elizabeth Cory (class of 2018)
  • Angelica Johnsen (class of 2018)
  • Christi Faucher (class of 2018)

We are actively seeking undergraduate volunteers for the committee. Please contact Rebecca Burwell ([email protected]).

Graduate Students

  • Ceyda Sayali
  • Emily Levin
  • Boyoung Kim
  • Andrew Lynn

Post-Doctoral Researchers

  • Apporva Bhandari


  • Rebecca Burwell
  • David Sobel
  • Michael Frank
  • Scott Anderbois
  • William Warren