Director of Undergraduate Studies: Nicole Gonzalez Van Cleve

Concentration Advisors: Nicole Gonzalez Van Cleve, Patrick Heller, Daniel Hirschman, Michael Kennedy, John Logan, Carrie Spearin, Jayanti Owens (Public Policy), Lisa Di Carlo (BEO), Mark Suchman (BEO)

An Advisor's virtual Office Hours can be found on our Office Hours page.

Sociology has a 2-tier advising structure.

1) The first point of contact is with the faculty.  If you have an interest in sociology you should contact and meet with any member of the department.  Ideally, you should choose someone whose work, areas of teaching and research you find of most interest.  All faculty who are in residence hold office hours.  The faculty can review with you what sociology is, what sort of careers it leads to, help you make a decision about concentrating in sociology or simply which classes you should take given your interests.  All of the faculty are also available as capstone or thesis advisors.

2) If you decide you are interested in concentrating in sociology, you should go to office hours of one of our faculty or make an appointment to meet with one of the concentration advisers listed above.  The undergraduate advisors can go over requirements and discuss your course of studies in sociology.  Undergraduate advisors can also advise you on transfer credits and can approve petitions to have courses outside of sociology count for the concentration.