Junior Faculty Teaching Fellows Program

The Sheridan Junior Faculty Teaching Fellows program is a yearlong, cohort-based learning community that provides the opportunity for a small group of junior faculty from across the disciplines to come together to reflect upon and discuss their teaching and their students’ learning with Sheridan staff. During the Fall semester, fellows participate in the Sheridan Teaching Seminar Reflective Teaching Certificate, completing online components and attending Certificate workshops facilitated by the Sheridan Senior Associate Director. Fellows also learn strategies for observing teaching and giving formative peer feedback across disciplines. During the Spring semester, fellows participate in three reading group discussion sessions on teaching-related topics of interest to fellows, observe another fellow's class, and discuss insights and ideas gained from the experience. Sample topics might include: Inclusive Teaching, Classroom Strategies, Writing Pedagogy, Course Design, or Documenting Teaching. Participants also receive feedback on their teaching through a course observation or early student feedback session and one-on-one consultation with Sheridan staff.

Fellows will receive a $500 research stipend after completing the program.* Assistant professors and lecturers are welcome to apply for the 2019-20 year by August 30th.

The 2019-20 application window has closed. Please check back in summer 2020 for details about next year.

Program Dates

All sessions are held at the Sheridan Center (SciLi 720)

Fall 2019

Monday, September 23; 5:40-7:10 pm
Monday, October 21; 5:40-7:10 pm
Monday, November 11; 5:40-7:10 pm
Monday, December 2; 5:40-7:10 pm

Spring 2020

Wednesday, February 5; 12-1 pm
Tuesday, March 3; 12-1 pm
Wednesday, April 8; 12-1 pm

University Awards Ceremony: Monday, April 27th; 4:30-6 pm (attendance is optional) 

Please contact Dr. Jessica Metzler at [email protected] with questions about the program.

*Please note that participants must complete all required components of the program (completion of all Reflective Teaching Certificate requirements, full attendance at all sessions, and participation in peer and Sheridan teaching observations) to be eligible to receive the research stipend.

2019-20 Junior Faculty Teaching Fellows

Jesse Ault (Fluids and Thermal Sciences, School of Engineering)
David Buchta (Classics)
Emily Drumsta (Comparative Literature)
Marissa Gray (Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology, & Biotechnology)
Elizabeth Miller (Philosophy)
Jessica Plavicki (Pathology and Laboratory Medicine)
Malte Schwarzkopf (Computer Science)

Past Fellows


Lisa Biggs (Africana Studies/Rites and Reason Theatre)
Elena Festa (CLPS)
Amanda M. Jamieson (Molecular Microbiology and Immunology)
Kemp Plumb (Physics)
Lulei Su (East Asian Studies)
James Tompkin (Computer Science)


José Manuel Conde Alonso (Mathematics)
Leon J. Hilton (Theatre Arts and Performance Studies)
Jeff Huang (Computer Science)
Hieyoon Kim (East Asian Studies)
Jason Protass (Religious Studies)
Jerome Robinson (Chemistry)
Adam J. Sullivan (Biostatistics)


Lisa Dicarlo (Sociology)
Jennifer Franck (Engineering)
Jennifer Lambe (History)
Jeremy Mumford (History)


Nina Emery (Philosophy)
Karla Kaun (Neuroscience)
Sarah Thomas (Hispanic Studies)
Paul Valiant (Computer Science)


Cici Bauer (Public Health - Biostatistics)
Sylvia Kuo (Economics)
Eng-Beng Lim (Theatre Arts and Performance Studies)
Monica Linden (Neuroscience)
Josh Pacewicz (Sociology)


Jennifer Lindsay (Education)
Brandon Marshall (Public Health - Epidemiology)
Li-Qiong Wang (Chemistry)
Andrew Pennock (Taubman Center)


Stephen Bush (Religious Studies)
Johanna Hanink (Classics)
Thomas Serre (CLPS)
Kathleen Hess (Chemistry)